We’ve been telling you since the beginning of 2013 about the change in your Motor vehicle insurance PIP coverage. this is the part of your insurance that pays medical bills caused by an auto accident.
We just signed up our first client who is unable to make a PIP claim on his insurance because he did not see a doctor within the first two weeks after his accident. Don’t let this happen to you!!
The new legislation passed recently by the Florida legislature requires an accident victim to obtain treatment within 14 days of an accident. The full $10,000 PIP medical benefit is available only if a physician, osteopathic physician, dentist, or a supervised physician’s assistant or advanced registered nurse practitioner is seen within that time limit, and that health care provider determines that the insured has an “emergency medical condition.” Otherwise, the PIP medical benefit is limited to $2,500.
Be aware of this new time limit! And if you feel, as we do, that this time limit is unreasonably short (accident victims often do not begin to feel pain or physical limitations for several weeks following an accident), then contact your Florida legislator and tell him/her!
If you need a personal injury lawyer because of an auto accident, or you want more information, call Stuart or Jeff at 561-721-2500 in Palm Beach County or 772-419-0999 in Martin County. Call Jeff on his cell phone any time 561-827-5333.